Workshops- Webinars

The Mississippi Council on Economic Education is pleased to partner with our national Council for Economic Education (CEE) and NextGen Personal Finance (NGPF) to bring you professional development webinars for teachers nationwide. The webinars cover multiple topics on how to integrate personal finance and economics in the classroom and create a fun learning experience for your students.

When you attend the webinar(s), you will leave with relevant lessons, resources and tools that can be implemented the next day. Mississippi teachers earn 0.1 Continuing Education Unit (CEU) for each webinar. You must attend a minimum of 5 in order to apply for and receive CEU credit. You must attend a live webinar in order to receive a certificate of completion. Example: 5 webinars = 0.5 CEU’s

When you have completed a minimum of 5 webinars please collect the certificates of completion that you have received from either/or CEE and NGPF and complete the form below to apply for your CEU Credit. CEU’s will be issued to you by email within 30 days of receipt.

 

 

 

**Many of the webinars are interactive so it is recommended that you participate from a desktop or laptop computer rather than your smart phone.**

 

 

September


Economics Webinars

  • Thursday, September 12: Introduction to Content Changes
  • Tuesday, September 17: The Economics of the Constitution
  • Tuesday, September 18: Keynes vs. Hayek: The Battle Continues
  • Wednesday, September 25: Biological Power: Using the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass and Autobiography of Malcolm X to Display the Economic Value of Describing Yourself

Personal Finance Webinars

  • Thursday, September 12: Introduction to Content Changes
  • Tuesday, September 24: Avoiding the College Debt Bomb
  • Wednesday, September 25: Biological Power: Using the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass and Autobiography of Malcolm X to Display the Economic Value of Describing Yourself

October


Economics Webinars

  • Tuesday, October 1: A History of the American Banking System
  • Wednesday, October 2: Personal Finance and Macroeconomics
  • Tuesday, October 15: Teaching Macroeconomics with Games and Simulations
  • Wednesday, October 16: Re-examining Herbert Hoover
  • Tuesday, October 22: Protocols in the Classroom
  • Wednesday, October 23: The Economics of Slavery
  • Wednesday, October 30: John D. Rockefeller: American Titan and Sphinx

Personal Finance Webinars

  • Tuesday, October 1: A History of the American Banking System
  • Wednesday, October 2: Personal Finance and Macroeconomics
  • Tuesday, October 22: Protocols in the Classroom
  • Tuesday, October 29: Beware: Manipulative Marketing and Advertising

November


Economics Webinars

  • Tuesday, November 12: U.S. and Chinese Trade Policy: Is it Productive?
  • Wednesday, November 13: Saving the Farm: How to Teach about Agricultural Price Supports and Subsidies
  • Wednesday, November 20: The Economics of Slavery *note new date*

Personal Finance Webinars

  • Thursday, November 7: Introduction to Taxes Using TurboTax and Financial Fitness for Life

December


Economics Webinars

  • Tuesday, December 3: Inflation and College
  • Wednesday, December 4: $15 An Hour: Tools to Teach about Minimum Wage
  • Tuesday, December 17: Keynes vs. Keynesians

Personal Finance Webinars